Republic of Panama


Panama City

Official language (s)



75.517 km2



Ethnic groups

70% - Mestizo
14% - Amerindian and mixed
10% - White
6% - Amerindian  

Major cities
(with population)

Panama City Panama - 408.168
San Miguelito Panama - 321.501
Tocumen Panama - 88.543
David Chiriqui - 82.859
Arraijan Panama - 76.815  

Currency (-ies)

Balboa (PAB), subdivided into 100 centesimos
United States dollar (USD), subdivided into 100 cents 

Main religion (s)

75-85% - Roman Catholic
~15% - Evangelical

Time zone (s)

GTM − 05

Dialing code



Panama has a tropical climate. Temperatures are uniformly high - as is the relative humidity - and there is little seasonal variation. The temperature seldom exceeds 32°C (89.6°F) for more than a short time. Temperatures on the Pacific side of the isthmus are somewhat lower than on the Caribbean, and breezes tend to rise after dusk in most parts of the country. Temperatures are markedly cooler in the higher parts of the mountain ranges, and frosts occur in the Cordillera de Talamanca in western Panama.
Almost all of the rain falls during the rainy season, which is usually from April to December, but varies in length from seven to nine months.

Administrative division

Panama is divided into nine provinces and has a total of ten cities. Also, there are five Comarcas  (regions) populated by a variety of indigenous groups.

Major airports

Panama City: Tocumen International Airport (PTY)
David: Enrique Malek International Airport (DAV)
Colon: Enrique Adolfo Jimenez Airport (ONX)
Changuinola: Changuinola "Capitan Manuel Nino" International Airport (CHX)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.