Federal Republic of Nigeria



Official language (s)

Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba are recognized national languages.
Edo, Efik, Fulani, Idoma, Ijaw and Kanuri are recognized regional languages. 


923.768 km2



Ethnic groups

62% - Hausa, Fulani, Igbo and Yoruba
33% - Edo, Ijaw, Kanuri, Ibibio, Ebira, Nupe, Gwari, Itsekiri, Jukun, Urhobo, Igala, Idoma and Tiv

Major cities
(with population)

Lagos - 7.937.932
Kano - 3.848.885
Ibadan - 3.078.400
Kaduna - 1.652.844
Port Harcourt - 1.320.214 

Currency (-ies)

Naira (NGN), subdivided into 100 kobo

Main religion (s)

50,4% - Muslim
26% - Protestant
12% - Roman Catholic

Time zone (s)

GTM + 01

Dialing code



Nigeria has a tropical climate with two seasons. A wet season form April to October and a dry season from November to March with the wettest month June. Average annual precipitation varies from 1,770 mm (70 inches) in the west to 4,310 mm (170 inches) along the east coast, and to 470 mm (50 inches) in the central areas. The prevailing winds are the rain bearing south westerlies and the hot dry and dust laden Harmattan from the Sahara Desert in the northeast. Average temperature ranges are from 23°C (73°F) to 32°C (90°F) all year.

Administrative division

Nigeria is divided into thirty-six states and one Federal Capital Territory, which are further sub-divided into 774 Local Government Areas. 

Major airports

Lagos: Murtala Muhammed International Airport (LOS)
Kano: Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport (KAN)
Port Harcourt: Port Harcourt International Airport (PHC)
Abuja: Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (ABV)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.