United Mexican States


Mexico City

Official language (s)



1.972.550 km2



Ethnic groups

60% - Mestizo
30% - Amerindian or predominantly Amerindian
9% - White

Major cities
(with population)

Mexico City - 8.851.080
Ecatepec de Morelos - 1.656.107
Tijuana - 1.559.683
Puebla - 1,539,819
Guadalajara - 1.495.189
Leon - 1.436.480
Ciudad Juarez - 1.332.131
Zapopan - 1.243.756
Monterrey - 1.135.550
Nezahualcoyotl - 1.110.565

Currency (-ies)

Peso (MXN), subdivided into 100 centavo 

Main religion (s)

76,5% - Roman Catholic
5,2% - Protestant
1,1,% - Jehovah's Witnesses

Time zone (s)

GTM – 08 to GTM – 06 

Dialing code



Mexico has a tropical and temperate climate depending on altitude, winds and cool Pacific Ocean currents. A tropical climate is experienced along the coastal region of the Yucatan Peninsula and the lower areas of southern Mexico while a temperate climate is experienced in areas with an elevation higher than 900 metres (3,000 feet). Most of Mexico is dry with about 14% of the land area receiving adequate rainfall in all seasons. During summer and autumn both the east and west coasts are subject to hurricanes.
Many large cities in Mexico are located in the Valley of Mexico or in adjacent valleys with altitudes generally above 2,000 m (6,562 ft). This gives them a year-round temperate climate with yearly temperature averages (from 16 to 18°C or 60.8 to 64.4°F) and cool nighttime temperatures throughout the year.
Average temperature ranges in Mexico City are from 6 to 19°C (43 to 66°F) in January to 12 to 26°C(54 to 79°F) in May.

Administrative division

The United Mexican States is a federal republic formed by 32 federal entities -31 states and 1 federal district. The territory of the Federal District, commonly known and referred to as Mexico City, serves as the national capital. The states are divided into municipalities, and the Federal District is a special political division that belongs to the federation as a whole and not to a particular state.

Major airports

Mexico City: Benito Juarez International Airport (MEX)
Cancun: Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Guadalajara: Guadalajara International Airport (GDL)
Monterrey: General Mariano Escobedo International Airport (MTY)
Tijuana: Tijuana International Airport (TIJ)
Los Cabos: Los Cabos International Airport (SJD)
Puerto Vallarta: Licenciado Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (PVR)
Toluca: Licenciado Adolfo Lopez Mateos International Airport (TLC)
Merida: Manuel Crescencio Rejón International Airport (MID)
Hermosillo: General Ignacio Pesqueira García International Airport (HMO)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.