Republic of Kenya



Official language (s)



581.309 km2



Ethnic groups

22% - Kikuyu
14% - Luhya
13% - Luo
12% - Kalenjin
11% - Kamba
6% - Kisii
6% - Meru
15% - other African
1% - non-African

Major cities
(with population)

Nairobi - 2.750.547
Mombasa - 799.668
Nakuru - 259.903
Eldoret - 218.446
Kisumu - 216.479

Currency (-ies)

Kenyan shilling (KES), subdivided into 100 cents

Main religion (s)

47,7% - Protestants
23,5% - Roman Catholics
11,2% - Muslims
1,7% - Indigenous

Time zone (s)

GTM + 03

Dialing code



Kenya's climate varies from tropical along the coast to temperate inland to arid in the north and northeast parts of the country. It is usually cool at night and early in the morning inland at higher elevations. The "long rains" season occurs from March/April to May/June. The "short rains" season occurs from October to November/December. The temperature remains high throughout these months of tropical rain. The hottest period is February and March, leading into the season of the long rains, and the coldest is in July and August.
Temperatures are fairly constant year round with an average of 27°C (80°F) at the coast, 21°C to 27°C (70°F to 80°F) in the hinterland, while in Nairobi and the highlands the daytime temperatures normally range between 19°C and 24°C (66°F to 75°F).

Administrative division

Kenya is divided into 47 semi-autonomous counties that are headed by governors. Under the old constitution, Kenya comprised eight provinces each headed by a Provincial Commissioner (centrally appointed by the president). The provinces were subdivided into districts.

Major airports

Nairobi: Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (NBO)
Mombasa: Moi International Airport (MBA)
Eldoret: Eldoret International Airport (EDL)
Kisumu: Kisumu Airport (KIS)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.