Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia


Addis Ababa

Official language (s)



1.104.300 km2



Ethnic groups

34,5% - Oromo
26,9% - Amhara
6,2% - Somali
6,1% - Tigray
4,0% - Sidama
2,5% - Gurage
2,3% - Welayta
1,7% - Hadiya
1,7% - Afar
1,5% - Gamo
1,3% - Gedeo
11,3% - others

Major cities
(with population)

Addis Ababa - 3.040.740
Dire Dawa - 273.601
Makale - 271.562
Adama - 262.884
Gondar - 254.450

Currency (-ies)

Birr (ETB), subdivided into 100 santim

Main religion (s)

62,8% - Christians
33,9% - Muslim
2,6 - African traditional religions
0,6% - others

Time zone (s)

GTM + 03

Dialing code



The predominant climate type is tropical monsoon, with wide topographic-induced variation. The Ethiopian Highlands cover most of the country and have a climate which is generally considerably cooler than other regions at similar proximity to the Equator. 
The modern capital Addis Ababa is situated on the foothills of Mount Entoto at an elevation of around 2,400 m (7,874 ft), and experiences a healthy and pleasant climate year round. With fairly uniform year round temperatures, the seasons in Addis Ababa are largely defined by rainfall, with a dry season from October-February, a light rainy season from March-May, and a heavy rainy season from June-September. The average annual temperature in Addis Ababa is 16°C (60.8°F), with daily maximum temperatures averaging 20-25°C (68-77°F) throughout the year, and overnight lows averaging 5-10°C (41-50°F).

Administrative division

Ethiopia has been divided into nine ethnically based and politically autonomous regional states (kililoch) and two chartered cities  Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa. The kililoch are subdivided into sixty-eight zones, and then further into 550 woredas and several special woredas

Major airports

Addis Ababa: Addis Ababa Bole International Airport (ADD)
Dire Dawa: Aba Tenna Dejazmach Yilma International Airport (DIR)
Makale: Alula Aba Nega Airport (MQX)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.