Costa Rica


Republic of Costa Rica


San Jose 

Official language (s)

Mekatelyu, Bribri are recognized regional languages


51.100 km2



Ethnic groups

40% - White
31% - Mestizo
17% - Mulatto
4% - Amerindian
3% - Black
1% - Asian
4% - Other  

Major cities
(with population)

San Jose - 335.007
Limon (Puerto Limon) - 63.081
San Francisco - 55.923
Alajuela - 47.494
Liberia - 45.380

Currency (-ies)

Costa Rican colon (CRC), subdivided into 100 centimos

Main religion

76,3% - Roman Catholic
13,7% - Evangelic

Time zone (s)

GTM – 06

Dialing code



The climate is tropical year round. However, the country has many microclimates depending on elevation, rainfall, topography, and by the geography of each particular region. The year can be split into two periods, the dry season known to the residents as summer, and the rainy season, known locally as winter. The "summer" or dry season goes from December to April, and "winter" or rainy season goes from May to November, which almost coincides with the Atlantic hurricane season, and during this time, it rains constantly in some regions.
Humidity is higher on the Caribbean side than on the Pacific side. The mean annual temperature on the coastal lowlands is around 27°C (81°F), 20°C (68°F) in the main populated areas of the Central Cordilera, and below 10°C (50°F) on the summits of the highest mountains.
Average temperature ranges in San Jose are from 14 to 24°C (57 to 75°F) in December to 17 to 27°C (63 to 81°F) in May.

Administrative division

Costa Rica is divided into 7 provinces, 81 cantons and 473 districts.

Major airports

San Jose:
- Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO)
- Tobias Bolanos International Airport (SYQ)
Liberia: Daniel Oduber Quiros International Airport (LIR)
Limon: Limon International Airport (LIO)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.