People's Republic of Bangladesh



Official language (s)

Bengali (Bangla)


147.570 km2



Ethnic groups

98% - Bengali
2% - other 

Major cities
(with population)

Dhaka – 10.468.510
Chittagong – 3.761.337
Narayanganj – 1.448.975
Khulna – 1.406.963
Rajshahi – 791.051

Currency (-ies)

Taka (BDT), subdivided into 100 poisha

Main religion

89,7% - Muslim
9,2% - Hinduism 

Time zone (s)

GTM + 06

Dialing code



Bangladeshi climate is tropical with a mild winter from October to March, a hot, humid summer from March to June.
January is the coolest month with temperatures averaging near 26°C (78°F) and April the warmest with temperatures from 33 to 36°C (91 to 96°F).
In Dhaka the average January temperature is about 19°C (about 66°F), and the average May temperature is about 29°C (about 84°F).
A warm and humid monsoon season lasts from June to October and supplies most of the country's rainfall. Natural calamities, such as floods, tropical cyclones, tornadoes, and tidal bores occur almost every year.

Administrative division

Bangladesh is divided into seven administrative divisions.
Divisions are subdivided into districts (zila). There are 64 districts in Bangladesh, each further subdivided into upazila (subdistricts) or thana. The area within each police station, except for those in metropolitan areas, is divided into several unions, with each union consisting of multiple villages. In the metropolitan areas, police stations are divided into wards, which are further divided into mahallas.

Major airports

Dhaka: Shahjalal International Airport (Zia Int'l) (DAC)
Chittagong: Shah Amanat International Airport (CGP)
Sylhet: Osmani International Airport (ZYL)

©2011-2018 Medical Tourism Database™. All rights reserved.